Australian Animals


There are several species of Bandicoot around Australia, and although they can be seen during the day are generally nocturnal. Bandicoots are small creatures only about the size of a rat and eat small insects and plants. Several of the Bandicoots around Australia include the Eastern Barred Bandicoot, which is now rare around Australia and the Southern Brown Bandicoot (Isoodon obesulus) found in eastern and western parts of Australia.

Bilby (Macrotis lagotis)

The Bilby is a small nocturnal creature found mainly in Northern Territory. They have large ears like rabbits and eat small insects and various plants.

Dingo (Canis familiaris dingo)

Australian DingoDingoes are found in various areas across Australia, and unlike domestic dogs do not bark. Instead the Dingo makes a howling sound that is very distinctive.

Dingoes generally eat mice, rabbits and rats, although can also attack livestock when hungry.

Echidna (Tachyglossus aculeatus)


The Echidna is a small creature, which belongs to the Monotreme family and has a furry underside with sharp spines on its back. EchidnaEchidnas live in the dry and hot desertland of Australia, as well as within the cooler climate of the Australian Alps.

Echidnas have a long beak with a sticky tongue, which it uses to catch insects to eat.

They grow to about 45cm and can weigh about 4.5kg. As a form of protection they quickly bury themselves in the ground, with only their spines sticking out of the ground.

Frilled Lizard (Chlamydosaurus kingii)

The Frilled Lizard is found in the eastern and northern parts of Australia, living within the bush. The Frilled Lizards frill normally hangs around its neck, and is made out of a flap of skin. When threatened the Frilled Lizard will raise its frill making it seen more dangerous.



Goannas are a type of lizard found in various parts of Australia. They can grow to about 2 metres long, and can be aggressive, often making a loud hissing sound. The Perentie Goanna (Varanus giganteus) is the largest of the Goannas, and is found in Central Australia. This species eats meat, although Goannas also eat various plantlife.

Grey Kangaroo (Macropus giganteus)

Grey Kangaroo

There are two species of Grey Kangaroo, the Western Grey Kangaroo and the Eastern Grey Kangaroo. The Eastern Grey Kangaroo is found along the east coast of Australia, while the Western Grey Kangaroo is found along the Southern section of Australia, from western Australia, right over to New South Wales.

The Western Grey Kangaroo is darker than the Eastern Grey Kangaroo, and can grow to about 2 metres high, although are commonly about 1 metre.

Koala (Phascolarctos cinereus)


Koalas are small bear like creatures who live along the east coast of Australia, with their habitat amongst the famous Eucalyptus trees. However, koalas only like to eat a small percentage of the Eucalyptus trees found around Australia.


Koalas have hard black noses, with sharp claws and a thick furry coat and can grow to a weight of about 10kg. Most of their time is spent asleep in the trees, which is the best place to see a koala.

Numbat (Myrmecobius fasciatus)

Numbats are small squirrel like creatures, which live in Wandoo Trees in South Western Australia. They have a distinctive red fur coat, with seven white stripes.

Platypus (Ornithorhynchus anatinus)

The Platypus has a duck bill, short legs with webbed feet, and a beaver like tail, and belongs to the Monotreme family. Males grow to an average of 50cm with about 1/5 of their length made up of tail. Platypus live amongst Australia's eastern waterways, and spend most of their time in the water although make burrows along the riverbanks. They mainly eat small crustaceans, as well as tadpoles and worms.


Possums are found all around Australia, and live in the Australian bush as well as around the suburban areas of the cities. There are a wide variety of Possums including the Grey Brushtail Possum (Trichosurus vulpecula) and the Ringtail Possum, which are both common around Australia. Possums eat a range of plantlife, and find scraps of food to feed upon. The Sugar Glider (Petaurus breviceps) is another species able to fly from tree to tree due to a membrane connected to its front and back legs.

Quokka (Setonix brachyurus)


Quokkas are found in South Western Western Australia and is a small creature similar to a Possum. They generally stay in groups, and if used to people can be quite friendly, and always after food.


Quoll are nocturnal creatures, which are Australia's native cats. They grow to about the size of domestic cats, and spend most of their time in trees. Various species include the Eastern Quoll (Dasyurus viverrinus) which can be found in Tasmania, the Northern Quoll (Dasyurus hallucatus), the Spotted-Tailed Quoll (Dasyurus maculatus) and the Western Quoll (Dasyurus geoffroii).

Red Kangaroo (Macropus rufus)

Red Kangaroos are the largest type of kangaroo, and live in the dry outback regions of Australia. They can grow to about 2 metres high, and a length of about 2.4 metres. Although the males have the vivid red colour associated with the Red Kangaroo, the females have a lighter grey-red colouring.


Ameythist Python

Around Australia are seven different families of snakes, with the most common being the Elapidae family. The most deadly snakes found in Australia include Brown Snakes, Copperheads, Death Adders, Red-Bellied Black Snakes, Taipan Snakes and Tiger Snakes.

Tasmanian Devil (Sarcophilus harrisii)

Tasmanian Devil

Tasmanian Devils live on their own, and come out at night to hunt for food. Tasmanian Devils eat a range of small birds and mammals, as well as insects. They have a black coat, with a small bear shaped head and can grow to about 60cm long.

Tree Kangaroo

There are two species of Tree Kangaroo in Australia, which as their name suggests live in trees. Both the Bennett's Tree Kangaroo (Dendrolagus bennettianus) and the Lumholtz's Tree Kangaroo (Dendrolagus lumholtzi) are found in the rainforests of Northern Queensland, and grow to about the size of a cat.



There are a number of species of wallaby found in various areas around Australia. Several include the Agile Wallaby (Macropus agilis), Brush-TailedRock Wallaby (Petrogale penicillata), Red-Necked Wallaby (Macropus rufogriseus) and the Swamp Wallaby (Wallabia bicolor).



There is a total of three species of Wombat found around Australia, which live in the northern, eastern and southern areas. These include the Common Wombat (Vombatus ursinus), the Northern Hairy-Nosed Wombat (Lasiorhinus krefftii) and the Southern Hairy-Nosed Wombat (Lasiorhinus latifrons).

WombatWombats are solid round creatures, which have short legs and small snouts. They use their front legs to dig and their back legs to push. Wombats generally eat various grasses and plantlife, and can grow to about 1 metre long weighing about 35kg.

Facebook Twitter