Australian Open

The Australian Open Tennis Tournament is held annually in Melbourne, Victoria. Orginally played in December the tournament now takes place in the last two weeks of January. This world-famous tournament is held at Melbourne Park which was specifically constructed in time for the 1988 Australian Open. A continuing success, the Australian Open drew a crowd of 550,550 in 2006.

The Australian Open is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments held across the world (it joins the French, Wimbledon and US Opens). Historically it was considered a 'Grand Slam' if the one tennis player won all four tournaments in the same year. The last man to acheive this was Rod Laver in 1969 and the last woman was Steffi Graf in 1988!

Within the Australian Open tournament there are numerous divisions these being: men's singles; women's singles; women's doubles, men's doubles, juniors and masters. Only the world's most elite tennis players compete, making it thrilling viewing for fans of all ages. There are also a number of famous faces spotted in the crowds each year!

There are numerous travel packages available during the Australian Open, many of which incorporate accommodation, airfares and passes to the tournament. Concession prices for the Rod Laver Arena tickets are available for children under 15 years of age, full-time students and pensioners. Children aged 2 and under have free admission to Melbourne Park but must be nursed in seated areas.

A free Tram service is provided during the Australian Open. A valid ticket allows patrons free use of the City to Wattle Park and the Melbourne Park to the City route. The shuttle tram will operate until one hour after the completion of play.

Facebook Twitter