Campervan explore Australia winter 2021

Freycinet Peninsula

I advertised for a female travel companion about this time last year, but COVID put a temporary halt on my plans. So ... let's hope 2021 works better! 

I have a small campervan (Hyundai iLoad). It has a LPG stove, a small refrigerator, two separate beds (one in the campervan, and one in the awning tent) and storage for a small amount of hiking and snorkeling gear. No toilet or shower. I am 73 years old, a fairly small guy: 5'5" and 60kg. I am interested in nature photography, which sometimes entails getting up before dawn to catch the shadows of sunrise. Love for nature, love for the sea, and love for animals are the cornerstones of my life. I am a retired environmental scientist. In years past I spent time in the south pacific on a yacht. The stories from those years can be found by searching for "the adventures of ocean child".

I have three trips planned. Trip One: check out some of Tasmania's national parks, beaches and rocky headlands. Trip Two: travel from Melbourne north up the East Coast as far as Cairns. Trip Three: travel from Hobart to Adelaide then Perth, then north up the west coast. I have a few friends along the way, and we would visit them briefly. We would avoid cities as far as possible, and commercial caravan parks (if we can find free camp sites). We would try to spend as much time as possible in natural areas like national parks.

I am looking for a female travel companion who likes natural places rather than cities and shops. Hopefully you will be interested in hiking (mainly one-day hikes) and photography. If you want to know more about me you could read some of my stories:

http://www.onlyoneplanet.com/OceanChildStoriesFromLongAgo.html

It would be better to email me or phone me rather than leave a comment below. Please contact me for further information. 0422 926 515

Posted By jonathannevillatgmailcom on 25th March 2021