Port Gregory lies near the mouth of Hutt River and is a picturesque fishing village encircled by five kilometres of exposed reef. The Port was originally developed to serve the Geraldine Lead Mine. Copper and lead were both mined in the region, the first shipment of lead left Gregory in 1853.

When the State decided to introduce convict labour, Lynton, near Port Gregory, become the hiring depot. These depots served as primitive employment agencies where ticket of leave men could be hired by local private enterprise. The depot closed in 1856. Ruins of the convict hiring station remain today.

There are a number of shipwrecks near the port, the best known being the "Mary Queen of Scots" in 1865. Due to the reef there is a natural harbour featuring a clean beach for swimmers. There is a large jetty and water-ski area. Jetty and offshore fishing swimming and windsurfing are popular activities.

Port Gregory is also recognised as a popular area for rock lobsters. The Hutt Lagoon is a magnificent pink lake. The colour of the lagoon is due to a bacteria (Dunaliella Salina) which becomes trapped in the salt granules. This provides a rich source of Beta Carotene, which is harvested from small ponds. Visitors should view the lake at sundown as the lagoon changes colour from mauve to pink to a slightly darker purple.

Facebook Twitter