Melbourne Suburbs

Melbourne is a planned city: a tidy, balanced grid of neatly angled streets. But beneath this lies a restless creative energy.

From Southbank and the Yarra to the Flinders and Greek Quarters, the CBD is made up of precincts which are distinct places each with its own flavour and charm.

Tending around the bay are a number of inner suburbs, each with its own unique character and personality. A short tram ride from the city centre, Melbournes suburban neighbourhoods are a must see for anyone wanting to experience what life here is really all about.

South BankMelbourne is made up of a number of suburbs. The inner suburbs include Carlton, Collingwood, East Melbourne, Fitzroy, North Melbourne, Prahran, Richmond, South Melbourne and South Yarra.

Melbourne CityThe two main suburbs on the bay are the diverse St. Kilda, and the maritime area of Williamstown. There are several beaches and bayside suburbs along Port Phillip Bay well worth investigating as well.

South YarraThere are also plenty of parklands and gardens in close proximity of the fabulous Yarra River which are ideal for relaxing in, which quickly makes it clear why Melbourne is often referred to as the 'Garden City'.

Melbourne suburbs have a moderate oceanic climate and are well known for their changeable weather conditions. This is mainly due to Melbourne's location situated on the boundary of the very hot inland areas and the cold southern ocean.

Facebook Twitter